Spontaneous Cover!

Posted: March 3, 2013 in Life, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

HAPPY SUNDAY.

So, there’s this contest that Lindsey Stirling is hosting (if you don’t know who Lindsey Stirling is…A) That is a sin B) Go look her up right now C) Three words: dancing hip-hop violinist). Basically you cover one of her original songs and post it on YouTube. Then she’ll pick a winner. Simple, right?

About two weeks ago, when the contest started, I didn’t bother looking into it. But then this Thursday, I suddenly got it into my head that I NEED TO SUBMIT A COVER TO THIS CONTEST.

Because of this semi-harebrained idea, I spent three days learning, recording, and filming a video to submit. It was intensely crazy. In the best way possible. I decided to make a cover of her song ‘Elements.’

And this is the end result:

As I mentioned in the video description, I absolutely could not have accomplished this feat without my spectacularific mom. She didn’t even blink when I informed her Thursday morning that I had decided to make a cover before Monday. She filmed for me and let me rehearse the piano at 11:30pm. In short, she’s kind of an epic ninja mom. I can’t thank her enough. :)

Let me know in the comments what you think of my video! I would love to hear your opinions–however, please keep all of your comments courteous and nice (I’m human just like everybody else :)).

So….See you when I see you.

Comments
  1. Erin says:

    AHHH!!!!! It sounds awesome Andrea!!! Gah! I really wish I had more time to complete my Spontaneous Me cover and submit it… :(

    Also, did you follow the sheet music exactly as written? Or did you improvise a bit? Either way, it sounds splendid!

    • Andrea says:

      Thank you!!!! You should still definitely finish your cover and upload it. :D

      I did improvise a bit (especially when I couldn’t play the notes fast enough in the left hand), but I stuck to the music for the most part.

      • Erin says:

        Unfortunately, the contest ended yesterday. *sobs hysterically* *smells coffee* *forgets about sadness*

        Cool! I’ll have to take a peak at the piano part next time I’m at your house. ;)

      • Andrea says:

        :( But, LOL. I had no idea coffee affected you so strongly. ;)

        *PEEK, Erin, PEEK. Typos aside, yes! [Or I suppose I could just email the doc to you, but that would be entirely illegal, and I’m such a good person I would never do something like that. :)]

      • Erin says:

        Stupid typo. :P

  2. Ivy says:

    It was AMAZING, Andrea!! I didn’t comment on the video last night when I watched it, because of lack of time, but I did thumb it up for you! :) I’ll probably go back sometime and write ‘awesome!’ or something like that (but YT is being annoying and telling me my browser won’t let me watch specific vids, like yours…. *sigh*). :)

    Oh, my brother was pretty impressed too, but he said your legwarmers were freaking him out. :D

    • Ivy says:

      Oh, also, I was amused by that random sheet of music on the floor half under the piano. Did you know it was there? :D

      • Andrea says:

        Thanks! Why was your brother freaked out by my legwarmers? *confused*

        Yes…I have a penchant for flinging sheets of music off the piano when I need to do a quick page turn (like I needed to do here). So that was one of the pages for the music that I threw dramatically to the floor. :P

Talk to me.

